Top Five on Friday: My Favorite Albums

Top Five on Friday: My Favorite Albums

I thought I’d do something different this week.  Even as the music industry continues to move toward the single as the most important work a musician will release in terms of success, I’m still stuck in the Stone Age of the album.  OK, so singles have driven record sales for a long time.  It just feels like the album is always going out of style.  A good one is cohesive.  It varies without the songs losing their identity, and the music is, of course, good.  The following are my top five favorite albums.  These are records that for some reason, I’ve latched onto and can listen to over and over again without ever tiring of them.  I think there’s something special that happens when an album is done right.  This post is basically going to be a love-fest; you’ve been warned: I ramble.

And you’ll have to click for more because I didn’t want to give anyone a wall of text if they weren’t expecting it.

5. The End of the Innocence by Don Henley: For a long time, this was my favorite album.  It got bumped down the list after a while, but that doesn’t mean I don’t love it anymore.  Henley’s best-selling album was kicked off with its title track.  It represents a time that was lost as the United States approached a new era.  It can also be a song about losing some kind of personal innocence.  And that theme runs throughout the entire album.  Each song deals with some kind of heartache or moments where we’re brought down to our knees.  It ends well with “Heart of the Matter,” where Henley tries to make sense of this love he’s lost.  The whole record seems to be about navigating the adult world that begins with that initial loss leading up to the closing track where we try to make sense of this whirlwind as Henley tries to understand what has happened in his relationship.

4. Doo-Wops and Hooligans by Bruno Mars: Bruno Mars is one of my favorite artists who have come out of the recent mix of pop artists, and this was probably my favorite album of 2010.  It achieves that fine line between the songs being varied but cohesive.  On his first album, Mars reveals himself as someone who can mix pop with r&b and soul and some little elements of rock.  Shades of Michael Jackson?  It’s there, and while I don’t believe there will ever be anyone like MJ ever again, it’s clear that Mars is making little nods to him as an influence.  Mars also admits reggae is a large influence, growing up in Hawaii.  He is a great entertainer himself, and this album shows versatility paired with a voice that is distinct.  When someone has Bruno Mars as a feature, you know it’s Bruno Mars when he opens his mouth.  These songs are a great representation of moments in life, from the down and out and broken hearted to being on top of the world.  My favorite?  Personally, I enjoy “Talking to the Moon” and “Count on Me.”

3. Keep the Faith by Bon Jovi: Were you expecting Slippery When Wet?  While touring for New Jersey, the band began to feel the damage done by burn out.  After, they decided that for their health and sanity, they would take a hiatus; for a while, they didn’t even talk to each other and ended up having to use a shrink as a mediator before writing Keep the Faith.  This record was more than just a return to making music together; it was a new beginning as a band of brothers.  It also marked a time of maturity and growth for Bon Jovi in both musical style and lyrical content.  It edged away from the metal sound on their first four records, allowing it to fit in the new nineties music scene.  It contained some power ballads and songs about love as most of their records do, but this one also made good use of the idea of picking up the pieces and starting over.  As a result, even the love songs make for a cohesive album.  It was a record that taught us that we are our own heroes (“I Believe”), it isn’t over (“Keep the Faith”), sometimes we have to be brutally honest in the face of a dying industry (“Dry County”), men want women (“Woman in Love”), but makes no apologies for any of it (“Blame It on the Love of Rock and Roll”).

2. Soul Punk by Patrick Stump: If you didn’t know that I’m in love with this album, then you must be a new reader.  Prior to this, I hadn’t heard, read, or seen a work that aligned with some of my perspective of the world so well.  Actually, a bit of my faith in that perspective had been shaken due to personal things and issues around the world as a whole.  That is, until I heard this record.  What seems to start out as a way for Stump to call out people in the world who need to straighten up their act is peppered with moments reflecting on what is still good and how we can keep ourselves sane, ending with the assurance that things will get better in time.  Basically, when disappointing or sad things are happening around you, the bad can be magnified and cynicism can take control.  This album reminded me of what I’d always felt—just piled under all of the garbage for a while: Things are not going well.  People and problems will bring you down and make you feel low.  It could be your job, love, anything from life in general.  It could be the sad realization that there is some corruption in humanity.  But.  People are generally good, and if we focus on that—things will get better.  Call it sentimental, but isn’t it the truth?  If we acted on the common good instead of focusing on ourselves all of the time, there’d be a lot less heartache in the world?  At least, that’s what I get out of it.

1. Closing Time by Tom Waits: What a great album.  I could listen to this one all day every day.  The record truly gives off that feel of sitting in a smoky bar, listening to the piano player and taking in and reflecting on aspects of love and life.  This is the glue that holds the album together.  The variation comes from the different genres that influence the record, and elements of jazz and folk permeate the album.  As Waits’s debut, it had to establish him as an artist while still leaving him room to grow.  Closing Time does this beautifully.  We see traces of what will come later, but it’s still Waits all the way through.  I love that.  And I love the feeling of the songs on this record.  Back to the idea of sitting in a bar, it takes you through the whole night, almost a soundtrack to the action that might unfold that evening, ending with the title track “Closing Time,” which has no lyrics; it is purely instrumental.  But it leaves you with the feeling that, yes, that was the end of the record, the end of the night.  There are no loose ends to tie off.  You finish your drink, and you’re gone.  A bit bittersweet as some have found someone to take home while others missed their chance.  And some of them?  They just wanted to get away from the rest of the world for a while.  My favorite track on the album is “Grapefruit Moon.”  I’ve always had the feeling that it’s one of those songs that can only be sung by Tom Waits.  Imitations would pale in comparison.

Honorable Mention: Thriller by Michael Jackson: I could only list five!  Five!  Still, I refuse to leave this one off of the list.  How could I?  As a pop music fan, I could not forget what is probably the greatest pop album of all time.  Thriller contains one of my MJ favorites, “Human Nature,” and if I have to defend why this is a good record I don’t know what to say.  If you’ve never heard the whole thing, please listen.  If it isn’t your preference, that’s cool too.  Still, I think it being the best selling album of all time is certainly justified.

Leave a comment